List of Holidays 2021: All Government offices under Govt of National Capital Territory of Delhi: Notification dated 10th November, 2020

List of Holidays 2021: All Government offices under Govt of National Capital Territory of Delhi: Notification dated 10th November, 2020

(Co-Ordination Branch)


Delhi, the 10th November, 2020

No. F. 53/401/GAD/CN/2020/3327-3375. – The Lieutenant Governor of National Capital Territory of Delhi is pleased to declare that the days specified in the following schedule be observed as holidays in all Government offices under Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi during the year 2021 (Saka Era 1942-43):-

S.No.HolidayDateSake DateDay


1.Republic DayJanuary 26Magha 06Tuesday
2.HoliMarch 29Chaitra 08Monday


3.Good FridayApril 02Chaitra 12Friday
4.Ram NavamiApril 21Vaisakha 01Wednesday
5.Mahavir JayantiApril 25Vaisakha 05Sunday
6.Id-ul FitrMay 14Vaisakha 24Friday
7.Buddha PurnimaMay 26Jyaishtha 05Wednesday
8.Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid)July 21Ashadha 30Wednesday


9.Independence DayAugust 15Sravana 24Sunday
10.MuharramAugust 19Sravana 28Thursday
11.JanmashtamiAugust 30Bhadra 08Monday
12.Mahatma Gandhi ‘s BirthdayOctober 02Asvina 10Saturday
13.DussehraOctober 15Asvina 23Friday
14.Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e Milad (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad)October 19Asvina 27Tuesday
15.Maharishi Valmiki ‘s BirthdayOctober 20Asvina 28Wednesday
16.Diwali (Deepavali)November 04Kartika 13Thursday
17.Guru Nanak ‘s BirthdayNovember 19Kartika 28Friday
18.Christmas DayDecember 25Pausha 04Saturday
Read also |  Non-joining/non-assumption of the charge on ad-hoc promotions - DoPT Order dated 19th Jan 2021

In addition to the holidays specified in above schedule an employees is entitled to avail himself/herself of any two holidays out of the restricted holidays during the year 2021 (Saka era 1942-43) as mentioned below :

S.NoHolidayDateSake DateDay


1.New Year’s DayJanuary 01Pausha 11Friday
2.LohriJanuary 13Pausha 23Wednesday
3.Makar Sankranti/Magha Bihu/ PongalJanuary 14Pausha 24Thursday
4.Guru Gobind Singh’s BirthdayJanuary 20Pausha 30Wednesday
5.Basant Panchami/ Sri PanchamiFebruary 16Magha 27Tuesday
6.Shivaji JayantiFebruary 19Magha 30Friday
7.Hazarat Ali ‘s BirthdayFebruary 26Phalguna 07Friday
8.Guru Ravidas ‘s BirthdayFebruary 27Phalguna 08Saturday
9.Swami Dayananda Saraswati JayantiMarch 08Phalguna 17Monday
10.Maha ShivratriMarch 11Phalguna 20Thursday


11.Holika Dahan/ DolyatraMarch 28Chaitra 07Sunday
12Easter SundayApril 04Chaitra 14Sunday
13.Chaitra Sukladi/ Gudi Padava I Ugadi/ Cheti Chand/Vaishakhi/VishuApril 13Chaitra 23Tuesday
14.Mesadi Tamil New Year’s DayApril 14Chaitra 24Wednesday
15.Vaisakhadi (Bengal)/Bahag Bihu (Assam)April 15Chaitra 25Thursday
16.Jamat-Ul-VidaMay 07Vaisakha 17Friday


Read also |  Allotment for MBBS Seat to Children of COVID Warrior, Format of Application, Format of Certificate and Directorate & Office details
17Guru Rabindranath ‘s BirthdayMay 09Vaisakha 19Sunday
18.Rath YatraJuly 12Ashadha 21Monday
19.Parsi New Year’s day/ NaurajAugust 16Sravana 25Monday
20.Onam or Thim Onam DayAugust 21Sravana 30Saturday
21.Raksha BandhanAugust 22Sravana 31Sunday
22.Janmashtami (Smarta)August 30Bhadra 08Monday
23.Vinayaka Chaturthi/Ganesh ChaturthiSeptember 10Bhadra 19Friday
24Dussehra (Saptami )October 12Asvina 20Tuesday
25Dussehra (Mahashtami)October 13Asvina 21Wednesday
26Dussehra (Mahanavmi)October 14Asvina 22Thursday
27Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chouth)October 24Kartika 02Sunday
28Naraka ChaturdasiNovember 04Kartika 13Thursday
29Govardhan PujaNovember 05Kartika 14Friday
30Bhai DujNovember 06Kartika 15Saturday
31Pratihar Sashthi or Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja)November 10Kartika 19Wednesday
32Guru Teg Bahadur ‘s Martyrdom DayNovember 24Agrahayana 03Wednesday
33Christmas EveDecember 24Pausha 03Friday

By Order and in the Name of the
Lt. Governor of the National Capital Territory of Delhi,

Source: Click here to view/download PDF